Seven Letters from Paris — A Review

Seven Letters from Paris by Samantha Vérant

Seven Letters from Paris by Samantha Vérant

Greetings, Readers.

A very kind and generous friend sent me an e-book copy of Samantha Vérant’s Seven Letters from Paris. What follows is a review I just posted to Amazon and is a reflection of my real feelings about the book. This review is unsolicited, and something from my heart. I am writing it in part because I know the importance of a good review to an author, and hey: it’s good karma! You never know. I might one day tell one of my own stories and this is my storing up in the goodwill karma bank. ;-)

I’m going to be doing this more because I was also the recipient of TWO MORE books in this past couple of weeks — one I blogged about already here, and one is from a Facebook giveaway from none other than Samantha Vérant’s page for Seven Letters from Paris. More on those as soon as I finish reading, can write a review, and head to the public library, which is where I am frantically typing this up because the Boy is with me today, we still don’t have Internet access at my parents’ home, and he is dying to play Minecraft for a few. Haha. So, let me not tarry.

Samantha Vérant’s Seven Letters from Paris is a fine romantic memoir of what can go right when a person allows passion to flourish in her life.

I wanted to read this book because my story is so similar to Samantha’s: in my late 30’s with a second marriage experiencing unrepairable faults in its foundation, I reconnected with a man I had first met when I was almost 18, my best friend’s oldest friend. He lived in Paris, an American who went there because of a French woman and stayed for his children and his job after his marriage ended. We didn’t have a romance when we were young (he long-distance dated my friend for a time), but through his blog and letter-writing 20 years after first meeting, we bonded. There was something there, I thought, that was of soul and substance. After more explosions in the second marriage and its demise, I went to France at 40, too, just a year before Samantha did, in the hopes of pursuing the romance of a lifetime. I married the object of my affection, just like she did, but when life circumstances and situations became too hard, my husband chose not to continue the marriage. This is where Samantha’s and my stories diverge.

Happily, even if with struggles along the way, Samantha and her Prince Charmant, Jean-Luc, wed in 2010. Samantha and Jean-Luc are still happily wed and living in Toulouse, France. I stayed in Paris until 2012, my third marriage barely off to a start before it ended (I’ve mentioned it before, but you can find some of the stories about everything here and here). It’s been a painful time to recover from yet another marriage loss, but Samantha Vérant’s story taught me a little bit about why my story ended so differently from hers, and part of the reason why the other two marriages ended as well.

Here is what I learned through this engagingly-written book, which came to life for me through the wonderful and romantic descriptions: He, the man, needs to have passion for you. He does not necessarily need to lead a passionate life nor be a poet in rocket-scientist disguise (as is Samantha’s husband, Jean-Luc), but he does indeed need to have passionate feelings for the woman he is with, or else it is just friendship with benefits, or some kind of roommate situation, staying with someone out of obligation. Not that “friendship with benefits” is something *wrong*, if that is truly what both people want and need. But for something grand, spiritual, committed, romantic, and beautiful, he’s gotta be into you, babe. This is what I really finally understood from reading this book.

People have been telling me for years that there is something to a relationship where the man thinks his woman hung the moon and treats her like it. The lightbulb in my head finally turned on when reading Seven Letters in Paris: hold out for what is the extraordinary in a romantic relationship and do not settle for that which is dull and passionless, or, god forbid, outright abusive. Hold out hope for the one who *knows* you are “the one” and who makes sure you do not disappear from his life — especially not a second time. Samantha discovered this truth after hitting rock bottom, and writes about it in a humorous, hopeful, and passionate way.

I recommend this book if you enjoy realistic but romantic stories, stories about recharging and rebooting your life, or if you want to read a tale of hope of recovery after living a disconnected and passionless life. You’ll find it an encouraging read. I know I certainly did. Please go to your local bookseller and get a copy of this book if you have an interest in France, in reading about the emergence of a beautiful relationship, in armchair travel, or in how to hold out hope when all hope seems lost.

Over and out,

Karin

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Yes yes and yes!

    Reply
  2. Maria O. Russell

     /  October 20, 2014

    What a fantastic review, Karin…it is so uplifting!
    Sounds like a delicious book! Can’t wait to read it…
    Thank you!

    Reply
    • You’re welcome, Maria. I’m glad you will read the book! It is really such a good read, light enough and funny enough to be charming, but also serious enough to acknowledge what a risk it is to open ourselves to life and how tough that can be. It is how I wished my story could have gone, but at the same time also made me realize why it could not. However, I did not have “sour grapes” reading AT ALL. I instead felt joy that it *worked* for someone and gave me faith again! There are always second (third, fourth, fifth, sixth, lol) chances. ;-) And I felt so much wiser for reading it.

      xx
      K

      Reply
  3. Karin – thank you so much for your support, kind words…and new friendship! Again, I’m so glad we connected!

    Bisous!

    Sam

    Reply
    • Thank you, Sam, for taking the time to come by and comment! I am so glad to have supported your book — my reply to Maria sums up a lot of why, as does the review, and I know of two people already who have planned to buy the book and read it because of my sharing, so woo hoo! More readers. :-) I’m glad to have connected, too, and here’s to more books with more of the story in your future. :D

      Gros biz!
      xx
      K

      Reply
  1. Dusting Off the Blog and a Review of How to Make a French Family | Looking for Ballast

Leave a Reply

